Travel to Mongolia -5- The Journey of the Book

Library and bookshop.

Ekotumi
4 min readSep 28, 2022

This post is completely my hobby.
I like books. I like libraries. I like bookshops.
I want to believe that there are no bad person who is book lovers in this world.
I would rather go to a bookshop than usual sightseeing.
I want to be surrounded by the language and intelligence of each country in the library.

In Ulaanbaatar, I passed by a beautiful building.
I felt the smell. It’s the smell of books. I felt it is a library.
I asked around, and it turned out I was right. It was the Mongolian National Library.
I know it’s impossible, but I ask people to enter.
Yes, I know. it’s difficult.
Of course, they don’t need to let in Japanese people who can’t read Mongolian.

Mongolian National Library ( Монгол Улсын Үндэсний Номын Сан)
The statue is of Byambyn Rinchen who was Mongolian translator, scientist, linguist and literary writer.It used to be a statue of Stalin.

However, I was able to visit another library. (Probably) The Central Library of Ulaanbaatar. Probably…

Library card catalogue. I love it.
There were books “Bushido” and many Japanese books.

I can feel the same feeling in every library all over the world.
Builded intelligence.
Each one of us has a will and the ability to think. But wisdom is not by only one person. It is received from the previous generation and passed on to the next. To build makes our thinking deeper. By receiving builded intelligence, we can swim out into the ocean thought beyond our personal boundaries. Even if we do not live in the same time, we can share the same moment.
We are not alone.

***

I think the library required registration, thank you that you let me in.

And happily, the book trip did not end there.
We were also able to visit a large local bookshop, four floors high.

These are the books that are selling now in Mongolia.

It’s hard to see, but try to watch it.
The horizontal one in the middle are stories of Mongolian heroes.
Top row, from left.
- Ichiro Kishimi and Fumiken Koga’s The Courage to Be Disliked and The Courage to Be Happy.(Famous in Japan.)
- LEAN IN by Sheryl Sandberg.
- Improvement, so something like Konosuke Matsushita? Designed to resemble the Japanese flag.(Also famous in Japan.)

Bottom row, from left.
- Haruki Murakami
- The tale of Genji
- Zen

I was a little surprised to see those. It’s quite similar to the books in Japanese bookshops.
I am sure that when it comes to globalization, business books that sell well in every country will be similar.
Because the nature of people’s problems is similar in all over the world.

The same is true of myths.
Myths from around the world can be divided into five to seven patterns.
However, the details and endings vary depending on the local climate.
In other words, there is only such a small range of possible “beginnings of this world” that humans can think about.
If imaginations are like that, similar.
So worries are also similar.
Of course, the details will vary depending on the culture and environment in which a person is placed, but in essence there is no great difference.

I remember a friend who was angry with person of religion.
‘They should try harder!’ he said.
Isn’t it strange? People’s problems have always been the same, and some has been answered since the time of the Buddha, but people are still suffering.
Why person of religion don’t save people from familiar problems yet?
Isn’t the purpose of religious people to save people? Or to get money?

We are different races. Japanese and Mongolian.
But we suffer from the same problems.
We are the same people.

If I can touch someone’s soul with my music, with my songs.
Even if it’s just one person, it’s a great honour to be an artist.

The well-known translator Magnifico Gambino, who guided me throughout the day, even signed our book. Thank you!

Library and bookshop. A very satisfying day.
But the journey in Mongolia was far from over.
There was much more to come.

If you want to read in Japanese, here!

Next is…

-6- People who want to go outside and people who want to stay inside
https://ekotumi.medium.com/travel-to-mongolia-6-4bcd8f507c54

-7- The ger, the desert and the horror
https://ekotumi.medium.com/travel-to-mongolia-7-the-ger-the-desert-and-the-horror-9b88de1f1ed

-8- Journey to the Gobi Desert
https://ekotumi.medium.com/travel-to-mongolia-8-journey-to-the-gobi-desert-a70c8e20310f

-9- Chuang-tzu’s “The Dream of a Butterfly”
https://ekotumi.medium.com/travel-to-mongolia-9-chuang-tzus-the-dream-of-a-butterfly-bffaee1917f8

-10- Red land, Bayanzag
https://ekotumi.medium.com/travel-to-mongolia-10-red-land-bayanzag-b6504247c3e3

--

--

Ekotumi

Artist, Singer-songwriter, Dancer, performer and novelist inspired by Japanese mythology. Since 2015, performs in concerts over the world, beginning with Europe